Buying guide

Best Auto-Open Heat Presses (HTVRONT & Others)

We research products independently. When you buy through links on this page, we may earn a commission from Amazon at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more.

An auto heat press solves the most common sublimation mistake: leaving the transfer in too long. Whether it pops open at the end of the timer or presses itself down at the push of a button, the cycle ends on time, and your shirts and blanks don't come out yellowed, ghosted or scorched while you're cutting the next transfer.

There are two kinds, and the difference matters. Auto-open (or auto-release) presses close by hand and release themselves at the end of the cycle. Fully automatic presses also lower the platen and apply pressure for you. Below are five real models across both types, from HTVRONT's popular auto presses to a shop-grade Geo Knight.

Quick picks

  • HTVRONT Auto Heat Press 2 - Digit – Best overall. Auto press and release, 20–80 kg adjustable pressure, room for 4.5 cm-thick items.
  • VEVOR Auto Heat Press 15 x 15 (AP-999) – Best budget, with up to 231 lb of pressure and 410°F max.
  • HTVRONT A100 Auto Multi Heat Press – Best multi-purpose, with flat, tumbler and hat plates that swap without tools.
  • Cricut AutoPress 2 (12 x 12) – Best for Cricut crafters, with Bluetooth and the Cricut Heat Guide.
  • Geo Knight DK20A (16 x 20) – Best pro auto-release clamshell, no compressor needed.

Comparison table

Auto heat press Type Platen Max temp Pressure Max thickness Amazon
HTVRONT Auto Heat Press 2 - Digit Fully automatic 15 x 15 in 410°F (210°C), per Amazon listing Adjustable, 20–80 kg 4.5 cm (about 1.8 in) Check price
VEVOR AP-999 Fully automatic 15 x 15 in 410°F (210°C) Up to 231 lb, 3 levels 2.17 in clearance Check price
HTVRONT A100 Fully automatic, multi-plate 12 x 10 in + tumbler + hat plates Not stated in product text Automatic Not published Check price
Cricut AutoPress 2 Fully automatic 12 x 12 in 410°F (210°C) Fixed, 110 lb 1.8 in Check price
Geo Knight DK20A Auto-release clamshell 16 x 20 in 600°F Manual, digital bar graph Not published Check price

The best auto heat presses, reviewed

1. HTVRONT Auto Heat Press 2 - Digit: Best Overall

Who it's for: home businesses that press shirts and hard goods and want hands-free pressing with real pressure control.

HTVRONT calls the Auto Heat Press 2 - Digit its top-tier press for home and business use. You line up the project and press once; it presses down automatically and releases at the end of the cycle. The headline upgrade over HTVRONT's first auto press is a pressure adjustment range of 20–80 kg, which HTVRONT pitches directly at sublimation users who struggle with too little pressure. It also fits thicker projects, up to 4.5 cm (HTVRONT mentions 4.5 cm-thick jumpers), on a 15 x 15-inch plate.

Ergonomics and safety are well thought out: an angle-adjustable screen, a slide-out drawer for loading away from the heat, auto-release and a 15-minute shutdown. HTVRONT lists HTV, sublimation materials, heat transfer paper, printable HTV and DTF as compatible. HTVRONT's own product text doesn't state a maximum temperature, but its Amazon listing gives 410°F (210°C) and 1500W on 120V.

Pros

  • Automatic press and release on a 15 x 15 plate
  • Adjustable 20–80 kg pressure for soft and hard goods
  • Slide-out drawer keeps hands away from the platen

Cons

  • Maximum temperature only given on the Amazon listing, not HTVRONT's product text
  • Bigger and heavier than 12 x 12 craft presses
  • Pressure is set in kilograms, so expect a learning curve
Best Overall

HTVRONT Auto Heat Press 2 - Digit

by HTVRONT

Check price on Amazon

The original HTVRONT Auto Heat Press: still sold, and a good value for shirts. It has a 15 x 15 plate, a dual-zone heating engine that HTVRONT says reaches 320°F in about 4 minutes, a 410°F (210°C) maximum, a pull-out drawer and 15-minute auto-off. It's 1500W, 36 lb, with a 1-year warranty, and HTVRONT doesn't publish a pressure range for it. That's the main reason we'd pick the Auto Heat Press 2 for sublimation hard goods.

2. VEVOR Auto Heat Press 15 x 15 (AP-999): Best Budget

Who it's for: budget-minded sellers who want fully automatic pressing with plenty of pressure.

VEVOR's AP-999 presses, counts down and releases on its own after you place the material, close the lid and press Start. VEVOR lists up to 231 lb of pressure with three levels, a temperature range of 212–410°F (100–210°C), a 0–999 second timer and dual-tube heating across the 15 x 15 plate. It has 2.17 inches of clearance for thicker items, two preset modes (fabrics and hard goods) plus two custom slots, and shuts off after 15 minutes idle.

It's 1400W and 39.7 lb, and it ships with sublimation paper and a heat-resistant cloth. Direct purchases from VEVOR carry a 12-month warranty. As with any budget press, run a full-platen test as soon as it arrives. More on the brand in our VEVOR heat press review.

Pros

  • Fully automatic at a lower price tier
  • High listed pressure and 2.17-inch clearance
  • Fabric and hard-goods presets plus custom slots

Cons

  • Only three pressure levels
  • Budget-brand quality control varies
  • 12-month warranty
Best Budget

VEVOR Auto Heat Press Machine 15 x 15 inch AP-999

by VEVOR

Check price on Amazon

3. HTVRONT A100 Auto Multi Heat Press: Best Multi-Purpose

Who it's for: crafters who want shirts, tumblers and hats from one machine instead of three.

The A100 is an automatic press with swappable heat plates: a 12 x 10-inch flat plate for letter-size and slightly larger projects, a 20 oz tumbler plate, and a large hat plate with a hat base and stretcher. HTVRONT says the plates swap in about a second without tools, and that they can also be detached for independent use, which makes larger or thicker items easier to press. Automatic pressing and a clear display make it beginner-friendly.

The catch is size. A 12 x 10 flat plate covers 8.5 x 11 prints, but not a full adult front from a 13 x 19 printer. And HTVRONT's product text doesn't state a maximum temperature or pressure range.

Pros

  • Flat, tumbler and hat pressing in one machine
  • Tool-free plate swaps
  • Automatic pressing for beginners

Cons

  • 12 x 10 flat plate limits shirt print size
  • Temperature and pressure range not stated in product text
  • A dedicated press does each job better at volume
Best Multi-Purpose

HTVRONT A100 Auto Multi Heat Press

by HTVRONT

Check price on Amazon

4. Cricut AutoPress 2 (12 x 12): Best for Cricut Crafters

Who it's for: Cricut users who want hands-free pressing tied into the Cricut Heat Guide.

The AutoPress 2 has a 12 x 12-inch plate that heats edge to edge up to 410°F (210°C) and applies a fixed 110 lb (50 kg) of pressure. Auto Mode presses hands-free, and the press auto-adjusts for materials up to 1.8 inches thick. You get four customizable presets, Bluetooth to send settings from your phone, a full slide-out tray, an insulated safety base and auto-off. Cricut lists DTF, iron-on (including Infusible Ink) and sublimation as compatible.

Fixed pressure is the trade-off. It suits most shirts and flat blanks, but you can't raise it for a hard good that wants more. We cover it alongside other flat presses in our sublimation heat press guide.

Pros

  • Hands-free Auto Mode with automatic thickness adjustment
  • Bluetooth settings and Cricut Heat Guide
  • Slide-out tray

Cons

  • Fixed 110 lb pressure
  • 12 x 12 plate is small for adult fronts from 13 x 19 prints
  • Tied to Cricut's app ecosystem for the best experience
Best for Cricut Crafters

Cricut AutoPress 2 - 12 x 12

by Cricut

Check price on Amazon

5. Geo Knight DK20A 16 x 20: Best Pro Auto-Release

Who it's for: production shops that want a 16 x 20 workhorse that opens itself.

The DK20A is the auto-release "Pop-Up" version of Geo Knight's largest manual clamshell. You close it normally; at the end of the digital timer, it releases automatically. Geo Knight says this makes the clamshell act like a semi-automatic air-operated press, without the compressor. It adds a "Hover" mode: lower the handle without clamping and the platen hovers over the work, which Geo Knight says is usually needed for curing (handy for DTF powder).

Everything else matches the DK20: 32–600°F, ±2°F readout, 70 presets, a digital pressure bar graph, a dual pre-press timer and a 3/4-inch Teflon-coated platen. It's 103 lb and draws 1800W at 15A on 110V. Warranty: lifetime platen, 5 years frame, 3 years controller, 1 year parts, plus free lifetime tech support. A 14 x 16 DK16A is also available.

Pros

  • Auto-release without an air compressor
  • Hover mode for curing
  • 600°F, 70 presets and a lifetime platen warranty

Cons

  • Premium price tier
  • Manual close and pressure setting
  • Heavy, and needs a 15A circuit
Best Pro Auto-Release

Geo Knight DK20A Digital Knight 16x20 Auto Clamshell

by Geo Knight

Check price on Amazon

Also consider: the Hotronix Auto Open Clam, a made-in-USA auto-open clamshell in 11 x 15, 16 x 16 and 16 x 20 sizes, covered in our sublimation heat press guide.

Automatic heat press buying guide

LOWERSPRESSESRELEASES Auto-openFully automaticPneumatic you close it by handelectric, push-buttonneeds a compressor automaticby hand
Even an auto-release press leaves the platen hot after the cycle ends.

Auto-open vs fully automatic

Type What it automates Best for
Auto-open / auto-release Releases at the end of the timer Shops that want speed and safety, with manual pressure control
Fully automatic (electric) Lowers, presses and releases Home businesses and beginners who want push-button pressing
Pneumatic (air-operated) Everything, powered by compressed air High-volume production; needs a compressor

Pressure: adjustable or fixed

Sublimation shirts want medium, even pressure; coasters, slate and panels often want firmer. Adjustable presses (HTVRONT's Auto Heat Press 2, VEVOR's three levels, Geo Knight's knob and bar graph) let you tune per blank. Fixed-pressure presses like the AutoPress 2 are simpler.

Thickness and clearance

Check the published maximum. Cricut lists 1.8 inches, HTVRONT 4.5 cm for the Auto Heat Press 2, VEVOR 2.17 inches for the AP-999. Thick hard goods and pressing pillows eat into that.

Platen size

Match your largest print. A 12 x 10 or 12 x 12 plate covers letter-size prints; a 15 x 15 covers most adult shirt fronts; a 16 x 20 covers a full 13 x 19 sheet. See our 15 x 15 heat press guide and clamshell heat press picks.

Loading safety

Slide-out drawers and trays (HTVRONT, Cricut) let you load away from the hot platen. Clamshells, even auto ones, put heat above your hands.

Shaped items

Auto presses for flat goods don't do tumblers or caps. HTVRONT's A100 adds plates for both; otherwise see our tumbler press and hat heat press guides.

Starting settings

An auto press doesn't change sublimation settings. Start with your blank and paper maker's numbers; for reference, Geo Knight's manuals list sublimation on polyester fabric at 400°F for 35 seconds.

Sublimation time & temperature chart

Type of blank
Temperature400°F204°C
Time35 sec, after 2–4 sec pre-press
PressureMedium
Starting pointSource: Geo Knight press manuals

Geo Knight notes that your transfer supplier's instructions are more accurate than generic figures.

Dial it in: run one test piece first. HTVRONT's rule of thumb: if a transfer looks faded, add about 10 seconds; if colors bleed or scorch, lower the temperature by 5–10°F. Change one setting at a time.

Sources: Geo Knight press manuals and DK3 mug press manual; Unisub Times & Temperatures; HTVRONT heat press chart, tumbler guides and blank listings; Siser application instructions; Cricut. Every value is a starting point, not a guarantee: presses, blank coatings and papers vary, and your blank or paper supplier's own settings come first.

Published max thickness 00.511.52 in Cricut AutoPress 2HTVRONT Auto Heat Press 2VEVOR AP-999 1.8 in4.5 cm, about 1.8 in2.17 in Thick blanks and pressing pillows eat into it.
Check the clearance before buying for thick hard goods, and count the pillow too.

Common mistakes with auto heat presses

  1. Trusting the default pressure. Auto presses apply what you set, or a fixed amount. Test a scrap blank before a new product.
  2. Ignoring the thickness limit. Exceeding the published clearance can strain the mechanism or give uneven contact.
  3. Walking away for long. Auto-release ends the press, but the platen stays hot. Use the auto-off and never leave a hot press near children or pets.
  4. Forgetting protective paper. Auto presses press just as hard on stray dye. Use butcher paper on both sides.
  5. Pressing shaped items on a flat auto press. Mugs, tumblers and caps need their own press or plate.

How we chose

We didn't test these presses hands-on. We compared manufacturer product pages and specifications from HTVRONT, VEVOR, Cricut and Geo Knight for automation type, platen size, pressure, thickness, temperature and safety features, and weighed recurring owner feedback from crafters and decorators. Where a maker doesn't state a figure, we say so instead of estimating it.

FAQ

What is an auto heat press?

A heat press that does part of the work for you. Auto-open (auto-release) presses close manually but pop open at the end of the timer. Fully automatic presses also lower the platen and apply pressure at the push of a button. Both prevent over-pressing when you step away.

Is an automatic heat press worth it for sublimation?

For most sellers, yes. Over-pressing causes yellowing, ghosting and press marks, and an auto press ends the cycle on time even when you're busy. It also saves effort over hundreds of presses. The trade-off is a higher price and, on some models, less control over pressure.

Which HTVRONT auto heat press should I buy?

The Auto Heat Press 2 - Digit adds adjustable pressure (20–80 kg) and room for items up to 4.5 cm thick, so it's the better choice for sublimation hard goods. The original 15 x 15 Auto Heat Press is a solid value pick for shirts. The A100 suits crafters who also want tumbler and hat plates.

Do auto heat presses work for hard goods like coasters?

Yes, if they offer enough pressure and clearance. Look for adjustable pressure and a published maximum thickness, like Cricut's 1.8 inches on the AutoPress 2 or HTVRONT's 4.5 cm on the Auto Heat Press 2. Very thick panels are still better on a swing-away press.

Does an auto heat press need an air compressor?

Most don't. Electric auto presses like HTVRONT's, VEVOR's and Cricut's run on a standard outlet, and Geo Knight's DK20A auto-release clamshell works without a compressor. Air-operated (pneumatic) shop presses do need one.

Verdict

The HTVRONT Auto Heat Press 2 - Digit is the best auto heat press for most home businesses: hands-free pressing, adjustable pressure and room for thick items on a 15 x 15 plate. VEVOR's AP-999 is the budget alternative, the A100 suits crafters who want tumbler and hat plates too, and the Cricut AutoPress 2 fits neatly into a Cricut setup. For all-day production, Geo Knight's DK20A auto-release clamshell is built for the work.